Readers' Most Anticipated New Romances for 2024

Posted by Sharon on December 29, 2023


“The heart has its reasons, of which reason knows nothing.”
 
Blaise Pascal, the 17th-century French mathematician, said that. He was a lifelong bachelor, as it happens. Seems relevant. Still, to lift the spirits, there’s nothing like a good love story, or even just a good lust story.
 
Happily for all, we have both types in this latest installment of our Most Anticipated series for 2024. The romance aisle remains a popular and busy one, and the books gathered here represent highly sought-after incoming titles, according to Goodreads members’ Want to Read shelves.
 
You’ll find plenty of familiar faces in contemporary romance, including new books from Emily Henry, Kennedy Ryan, Tia Williams, Casey McQuiston, and Carley Fortune. On the historical fiction end of things, look for a new queer Victorian romance series from Emma R. Alban, a sexy Mexican espionage affair from Liana De la Rosa, and the most gloriously strained punny book titles in the business.
 
This year, we’ve broken out a distinct category for Romantasy and Paranormal Romance, including Ali Hazelwood's much-anticipated paranormal werewolf/vampire saga, Bride. The Witch’s Guide to Magical Innkeeping is the sequel to one of 2022’s breakout hits. Also on tap: Saara El-Arifi’s Faebound, Analeigh Sbrana’s Lore of the Wilds, and Justinian Huang’s The Emperor and the Endless Palace. Sexy! Fantastic!
 
Watch for a few buzzy debuts, too, from newcomers including Naina Kumar and Yulin Kuang. Bonus trivia to bring everything full circle: Kuang is the director of the film adaptation of Emily Henry’s classic Beach Read.
 
Click on the book cover images for more information about each title, and don’t forget to feed your poor lonesome Want to Read shelf.
 

Contemporary Romance

         


Romantasy & Paranormal Romance

       


Historical Romance

   



Now it's your turn! Let us know which new 2024 romances you’re most excited to read this year in the comments below.


Comments Showing 1-50 of 86 (86 new)


message 1: by Law (new)

Law Funny Story looks intriguing.


message 2: by Sonia (new)

Sonia I'm bummed that the Historical Romances all have illustrated covers. I'm not inspired to read any of them 😕


message 3: by Carrie (new)

Carrie No dark romance? Bummer. 😑


message 4: by Nsikan (new)

Nsikan Akpan I’m tired of this age of illustrated covers for romance and YA. Let’s get back to the times of photography


message 5: by Robin (new)

Robin Garnham What ever happened to you can't judge a book by it's cover :P I tend to look at the words in the book for longer than I ever see the cover image. Plus with so may people reading e-books the cover art will probably be changed in a few months to year if the book does well enough.


message 6: by Harlene (new)

Harlene Mann Sonia wrote: "I'm bummed that the Historical Romances all have illustrated covers. I'm not inspired to read any of them 😕"

Me too! What's with all the illustrated covers these days?!


message 7: by Christine (new)

Christine Smith Ha! And I’m just the opposite! I actually prefer illustrated covers! Thankfully, the words inside each book are the same regardless of whether there’s a photograph or an illustration. 😊


message 8: by Tali (new)

Tali Cooper I wish there were more diversity amongst these books😕


message 9: by Mary (new)

Mary I'm so excited 💖💖💖💖💖


message 10: by Tom (new)

Tom Fantasy romance covered are becoming indistinguishable 🥲


message 11: by Kathy (new)

Kathy Allard I came here looking for The Lily of Ludgate Hill by Mimi Matthews, based on how much I liked the previous entries in that series. That one is near the top of my list.

Then I read the description of The Emperor and the Endless Palace and it sounds incredible, absolutely my thing(s) -- MM, time travel, high angst -- can't wait for it.

I'm generally not much of a romance reader and would be happy to discover new (to me) authors this year too!


message 12: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Urban Rina Kent’s God of War coming in August


message 13: by Desigan (new)

Desigan Test


message 14: by rorysstar (new)

rorysstar i am SO excited for don’t want you like a best friend the cover is gorgeous 😊💖


message 15: by dawn wilkes (new)

dawn wilkes I'm excited to read some of these books !!!


message 16: by Gabrieli (new)

Gabrieli they all look so bad tiktok what have you done to my beautiful genre 😭


message 17: by Ajms98 (new)

Ajms98 Looks painfully straight.


message 18: by G.D. Susurkova (new)

G.D. Susurkova Please the cover artists must be dying of boredom 😩🙏


message 19: by Queen A. (new)

Queen A. Most of them look like YA rom-coms.


message 20: by Arti (new)

Arti Selected a few, hopefully they impress.


message 21: by Clara (new)

Clara São Pedro Most exciting release of 2024? For me is "Dark Star Burning Ash Falls White", by Amelie Wen Zhao!🐉🫶🏼


message 22: by Daniela (new)

Daniela Ramírez Solo me interesa "Bride" y tal vez... "Funny Story".

Dios mío todas las portadas son IGUALES, pero como que eso es lo que se esta vendiendo ahora; igual cansa ver lo mismo de siempre.


message 23: by Amy (new)

Amy Where’s the dark romance? If I see one more candy colored cartoon cover 🙄


message 24: by Natasha S ♥ (new)

Natasha S ♥ Sonia wrote: "I'm bummed that the Historical Romances all have illustrated covers. I'm not inspired to read any of them 😕"

Completely agree! I much prefer real models. It just gives a different feel to the story.


message 25: by Anna (new)

Anna Avian Painfully straight with cartoonish, identical covers.


message 26: by Law (last edited Jan 16, 2024 04:33AM) (new)

Law Where are the queer romances? Are there any POC romances? Bride looks intriguing.


message 27: by Uxie ♕ (new)

Uxie ♕ Gabrieli wrote: "they all look so bad tiktok what have you done to my beautiful genre 😭"

FOR REAL!


message 28: by Sara (new)

Sara Weather What is everyone favorite type of romance novel cover?


message 29: by Kristie (new)

Kristie Ajms98 wrote: "Looks painfully straight."

THIS! I was coming here for some queer books to add.


message 30: by Niyya ꪆৎ ·˚ (tae-sang's version) (last edited Jan 16, 2024 11:47AM) (new)

Niyya ꪆৎ ·˚ (tae-sang's version) Nsikan wrote: "I’m tired of this age of illustrated covers for romance and YA. Let’s get back to the times of photography"

I'm the exact opposite, the photography covers scare me😭 but I will agree that romance covers these days are extremely plain


message 31: by Hyacinthia (new)

Hyacinthia Blud Nsikan wrote: "I’m tired of this age of illustrated covers for romance and YA. Let’s get back to the times of photography"
yes! i really dis like the weirdly drawn covers i like it simple some of these books, no matter how good they are, are just going to be embarrassing to carry around.


message 32: by Emily (new)

Emily "He was a lifelong bachelor, as it happens. Seems relevant" is an all-timer line. Put this post in your portfolio!!


message 33: by Winfield (new)

Winfield What is listed here I would never read. I wish there was a selection for dark erotica.


message 34: by Mackenzie (new)

Mackenzie Alderson Christine wrote: "Ha! And I’m just the opposite! I actually prefer illustrated covers! Thankfully, the words inside each book are the same regardless of whether there’s a photograph or an illustration. 😊"

i agree! i always found photographed covers to be tacky sometimes. i will say i prefer the fully illustrated ones to the colorblocked high-saturation ones... but at the end of the day the cover seriously doesn't matter


message 35: by Mary ♥ (new)

Mary ♥ Carrie wrote: "No dark romance? Bummer. 😑"

My thoughts exactly! We'd like variety please, GR.


message 36: by Ann (new)

Ann  Mat How about Christina Lauren? No book this year?


message 37: by Lempi (new)

Lempi Amy wrote: "Where’s the dark romance? If I see one more candy colored cartoon cover 🙄"

Omg this!!!! stop with the sunshine and rainbows already!


message 38: by Beril (new)

Beril Nsikan wrote: "I’m tired of this age of illustrated covers for romance and YA. Let’s get back to the times of photography"

I'm the opposite, I can't read a book if it has a photography on it's cover.


message 39: by Lucia (new)

Lucia Crescent City is not romantasy! It is fantasy, and if one needed to be more specific than that, it's epic paranormal fantasy.


message 40: by Rachel ♡ (new)

Rachel ♡ Sonia wrote: "I'm bummed that the Historical Romances all have illustrated covers. I'm not inspired to read any of them 😕"

No literally...


message 41: by Abby (new)

Abby Ann wrote: "How about Christina Lauren? No book this year?"

I was surprised not to see them listed! Their new book, THE PARADISE PROBLEM, is coming out in May.


message 42: by Lorena (last edited Jan 17, 2024 03:11PM) (new)

Lorena Nsikan wrote: "I’m tired of this age of illustrated covers for romance and YA. Let’s get back to the times of photography"

It's much easier to have decent illustrations than photos (I've seen so many cringe ones I can't even number them!). I'd rather imagine the details myself than have a book ruined by a bad portrayal xD


message 43: by Milyd (new)

Milyd Sonia wrote: "I'm bummed that the Historical Romances all have illustrated covers. I'm not inspired to read any of them 😕"

Like I don't get this trend at all ugh!


message 44: by Morgan (new)

Morgan Golias There are quite a few LGBTQ books on this list and I am SO excited for them!!


message 45: by Carole (new)

Carole Mary ♥ wrote: "Carrie wrote: "No dark romance? Bummer. 😑"

My thoughts exactly! We'd like variety please, GR."



'the books gathered here represent highly sought-after incoming titles, according to Goodreads members’ Want to Read shelves.'


message 46: by Amanda (new)

Amanda Bruh all the romantasy/paranormal romance covers looks so good makes want to read them all but (if a had de money XD) and it was cute some sapphic books.
Also I'm a "new" reader if you may can anybody tell me why most historic romance are in the regency?
(And why every wants erotica???? Do people not like nice things? XD)
damn this is long sorry :v


message 47: by Alex (new)

Alex People complaining about illustrated covers lmao I absolutely hate when books have real people on the cover especially romance. If I see a prom dress cosplaying as historical or shirtless dude on the cover I'm absolutely not buying it. Some of the artists working on these popular titles have been so amazing like Leni Kauffman or Myriam Stratsbourg.

Would love to see more popular sapphic romances tho but people have no taste I guess lmao


✨Vi Kumar (semi-hiatus)✨ Emily Henry? Hannah Grace??? Virginia Heath?????
I'M DOWN.
2024 is going to be THE YEAR


message 49: by Ainsley (new)

Ainsley Let us hope this year is gonna be better!


message 50: by Rahy (new)

Rahy Alex wrote: "People complaining about illustrated covers lmao I absolutely hate when books have real people on the cover, especially romance. If I see a prom dress cosplaying as historical or shirtless dude on t..."

omg same. I read through these comments wondering if I'm the only one who despises most covers with real people on it, lol.
But tbh. I personally prefer Covers without people in general. Like I love the "daughter of the moon goddess" Cover


« previous 1
back to top